When A Stranger Calls

I used to be afraid of the phone. Not in a cliche horror movie way, but I hated making phone calls due to the sheer awkwardness of cold calling someone and accidentally talking over them during the interview.  When I schedule interviews, I use email and prefer to meet the subject in person than over a Sprint tower to avoid these fears coming true. Don’t get me wrong, I do phone interviews when necessary and call people if it’s the only way to get in touch, but my heart rate goes up with each ring. It must be a generational thing, but yes, I’d rather communicate through a screen than a telephone line.

However, yesterday, I did something uncharacteristic for me. After combing through a predictable press release, I decided that the best way to get information on the event I was previewing was to call someone. Sure enough, I found out what I needed to know and got a tip off that will make my future event story unique (hopefully.) Oh, and I’ve been added to the priority parking list and now have a contact that will introduce me to the important people. Maybe this all would’ve happened had I just gone through the press release and then pulled up on Saturday sporting my reporter badge, but it would’ve taken a lot longer. Turns out more than just awkwardness can happen over a phone line, sometimes you can develop a rapport. None of  this ever would’ve happened if I hadn’t gotten over my fear to hit the green “call” button. Yes, making the phone call may seem hard at first, but it will make your story easier.

Reporting for the Missourian is making me step outside of my comfort zone and I have to admit, it’s a great thing.

Leave a comment